Scholarships have been established at Parkland College for women who want to resume their interrupted education. The Parkland scholarships are named in honor of Janet Southwood & Bette Van Es, Amy Kummerow, and Phyllis Cline. These scholarships are not available to women who have already received a Bachelor degree.

Southwood—Van Es, Amy Kummerow, and Phyllis Cline AAUW scholarships

Our AAUW branch awards one $1,000 Southwood—Van Es scholarship, one $1,000 Amy Kummerow scholarship, and one $1,000 Phyllis Cline scholarship to Parkland students based on the following guidelines:

    • Be female.
    • Be a resident of Community College District 505 of the State of Illinois.
    • Have experienced an interruption in formal education of at least two years.
    • Be enrolled in either a full-time or part-time academic program.
    • Have a demonstrated financial need.
    • Have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 2.0 based on a 4.0 scale.

For information on AAUW National Scholarships, click on AAUW Scholarships.

CU AAUW Scholarship Committee: Elaine Peppers and Bette Van Es, co-chair; Members include Laura Keller, Jenny Harvey, Sallie Miller, and Deborah Richie.

The Champaign-Urbana branch provides a $600 scholarship for a University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign woman college student to attend the AAUW National Conference for College Women Student Leaders (NCCWSL) which is held in the Washington D.C. area in the spring.